The New Novel by Winslow Homer. Click for more info.
What's New
Topical booklists.
Media tie-ins, etc.
Articles of interest to series readers.
Posts about selected authors or titles newly added to eSequels.
A list of forthcoming titles by popular series authors.
To request a free two-week trial subscription to, please email a request to Include your library’s name, address and  phone number.

Search this blog

Pronzini/Muller series

mullerBill Pronzini and Marcia Muller might be considered America’s first family of detective fiction.  Bill created his “Nameless” detective in 1971 and has written over 40 novels in the series.  Marcia created Sharon McCone in 1977 and has written over 30 novels in the series.  They married in 1992 and were soon collaborating on a new series starring John Quincannon, a character developed by Pronzini for his historical series that are a happy blend of western and detective genres.  Quincannon meets PI Sabina Carpenter, a former Pinkerton operative and they set up a detective agency in San Francisco.  The Bughouse Affair (Forge, 2013) was the first Carpenter and Quincannon novel.  The fifth book in the series, The Dangerous Ladies Affair (Forge, 1/2017), contains a delicious locked room puzzle.  Needless to say, all these books are wonderful.  Both writers have been honored with the Mystery Writers of America’s Grand Master award.

–posted 2/13/2017

Posted February/13/2017

Jack Swyteck’s new case

Jack Swyteck’s Cuban mother died when he was born. His father, a policeman with a law degree and political ambitions, eventually becomes Florida’s governor. Jack rebels against his father’s repellant law-and-order politics and is determined to make his name as a defense lawyer representing death row prisoners. True to form, his hard work and passion for justice, leaves little energy for romance and his troubles with women are legendary, though beautiful FBI agent Andie Henning sparks his interest most frequently. Like Jack, author James Grippando was a Miami-based criminal lawyer until he became a full-time author. His first published novel, The Pardon, was an immediate success. His next five novels were stand-alones, then Grippando created his series character, Jack Swyteck in 2002. In  Most Dangerous Place (Harper, 2017), the 14th book in the series, Swyteck comes to the aid of Isa Bornelli, an old-friend’s wife, who is arrested for the murder of a man who raped her while she was a college student a dozen years earlier.  Grippando’s suspenseful legal thrillers always reach #1 on best-seller lists.

–posted 2/8/2017

Posted February/4/2017

Copyright 2002-2018 eSequels. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy.

Forthcoming New Adds Articles News Special Lists